Calhoun Park Committee Meeting Minutes

June 18, 2019

Lookaway Inn

Mayor Robert Pettit called the meeting to order at 6:35 pm

Present: Robert Pettit, Councilman David McGhee, Trina Mackie, Charles Allen, John Felak

Absent: Councilwoman Pat Carpenter, Tony Carr, Milledge Murray, Mark Newell, ex officio Mandy Nelson

The previous meeting minutes were accepted and approved as presented.

Mayor Pettit led the discussion concerning the layout of Calhoun Park and what might be included in the improvements. Some style of light was suggested by Trina Mackie and accepted as important either shining down on new items or for general illumination. The current marker with the names of the eight men killed was discussed and lack of maintenance will be addressed by the City. The marker belongs to the Heritage Council and no issues are expected to move this item to Calhoun Park. Some sort of artwork was supported by the committee and ideas are to be requested from local citizens.

Discussion centered on the actual location of the Hamburg incident and it was identified as behind the River Golf Club and closer to the 5th Street bridge. No markings of the original location are practical. Calhoun Park was discussed as to where the name came from. The original city plat labels it Calhoun Place. The President of the Land Company was Patrick Calhoun. However, the original History of North Augusta book labels it John C. Calhoun Park. There is some doubt on the official name and research will continue under Mayor Pettit's leadership.

Mayor Pettit renewed his support for community involvement in the design and inclusions for the Park. John Felak will contact the Arts & Heritage Center and NA Arts Council to discuss the process and report at the next meeting. David McGhee spoke to Dee Crawford and Mayor Pettit met with Brenda Baratto on the same subject.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:15 pm to tour Calhoun Park by the committee. All were able to attend with the exception of Mayor Pettit.

Next meeting Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 6:30 pm in Council Conference Room

Respectfully submitted:

John Felak, Committee member